Santa in Northumberland 2026: Trains, Grottos and What They Cost
Every Santa train, grotto and Father Christmas day out in Northumberland for 2026, with what it really costs once the grown-ups are counted, the ages each one suits, and which have already sold out.
For 2026 the main Santa experiences in Northumberland are the Aln Valley Railway's Santa's Steam Train Adventure in Alnwick (£25 a seat, 5 to 21 December), the Heatherslaw Light Railway Christmas Special near Ford (5 and 6 December, up to £20), Kielder Winter Wonderland (from £44.50 a person) and Meet Father Christmas at Lilidorei in The Alnwick Garden (£26.50 to £38 a child). Bamburgh Castle's grotto and Wallington's main sessions were sold out by 29 September 2026, and Woodhorn's Festive Tales in Ashington, at £10 a child, is the cheapest ticketed option.
Checked 29 September 2026. Dates and prices change, so the organiser's link is the one to trust.
If you've typed "santa experience northumberland" into your phone at eleven at night, this is the list we wanted: every Santa train and grotto in the county we could verify for 2026, what it actually costs a family once the adults are added on, where you park, and which ones have already gone. Because some have. Bamburgh Castle's grotto and Wallington's main Father Christmas sessions were both sold out by the end of September, and so was Tanfield Railway's Santa train down in County Durham.
Our two are 6 and 7, peak Santa age: old enough to ask how he gets from Kielder to Bamburgh in one afternoon, young enough to accept "he's very quick". Every price here is from the organiser's own page; where something isn't published, I've said so rather than guess.
Santa experience Northumberland 2026: prices side by side
Rough cost for two adults and two children, before parking and lunch, from published prices:
Woodhorn Festive Tales, Ashington: about £42 (£10 a child, £11 annual pass per adult). 5 to 24 December.
Belsay Hall: £24 for the children, plus admission for non-members. Weekends 5 to 20 December.
Heatherslaw Light Railway, near Ford: up to £20 a ticket, under 2s free. 5 and 6 December only.
Aln Valley Railway, Alnwick: £100 in open seats, or £150 for a private compartment for four. 5 to 21 December.
Lilidorei, The Alnwick Garden: £53 to £76 for the children, plus a Lilidorei, Winter Lights or member ticket for each adult. 20 November to 24 December.
Bamburgh Castle: about £107 with the family ticket and parking. Sold out.
Whitehouse Farm Centre, near Morpeth: £149.80 for up to seven hours, farm park included.
Kielder Winter Wonderland: from £184 including the booking fee.
Wallington: £64 for the grotto (sold out); the walkaround Father Christmas is free with admission.
Seahouses and Crabbies at Berwick: prices only appear at booking.
From about forty quid to the best part of two hundred, then. Mostly the money buys time: Woodhorn is half an hour, Kielder and Whitehouse are the whole day.
Santa trains in Northumberland
There are two in the county, and on both Santa comes to you on the train rather than you queueing for him in a shed. With a wriggler, that matters.
Alnwick
Santa's Steam Train Adventure, Aln Valley Railway
The Aln Valley Railway runs its steam trains from its own Lionheart Station on the edge of Alnwick, and 2026 is a new format for its Christmas trains. It's a 55 minute return trip with Mother Christmas and the elves doing the entertaining, then Santa comes through the train. Each child gets a plush gift, an activity book, juice and a treat. Adults get a mince pie, which is about the exchange rate I'd expect.
Open seats are £25 for adults and children alike, infants £12.50. Private compartments (£150 for four, £175 for six, £200 for eight) suit a big family, because you're not sharing Santa with somebody else's toddler. Skip the optional £22.95 treat tin. An older Santa Specials page on the railway's site has shown different dates and prices, so go by the Santa's Steam Train Adventure page and the booking agent, Fox and Edwards Events.
Dates
Sat 5, Sun 6, Sat 12, Sun 13, Sat 19, Sun 20 and Mon 21 Dec 2026
Price
£25 adult or child, infant £12.50; compartments £150 to £200
Ages
No age limit published; our pick for about 2 to 9
Parking
Car park at Lionheart Station, NE66 2EZ
Buggy access
Not stated; ask when booking
Check first
Departure times only show on the Fox and Edwards booking page
The Heatherslaw Light Railway is the little narrow-gauge line along the River Till from Heatherslaw to Etal, about four miles there and back. For Christmas the trains are decorated and Santa climbs aboard at Etal station with seasonal treats for the children. Under 2s travel free and still get a present, the most generous small print in this article.
There are only two days, Saturday 5 and Sunday 6 December, with five hour-long sessions each day (10.30am, 11.45am, 1pm, 2.15pm and 3.30pm). That's ten trains in total, and the railway says they sell out quickly. The booking page lists tickets from nothing up to £20. There are no toilets at the station itself, only at the Heatherslaw visitor centre, so go before you board.
Dates
Sat 5 and Sun 6 Dec 2026, five departures a day
Price
Up to £20 a ticket; under 2s free with a present
Parking
Gravel car park at Heatherslaw with 3 hard-standing disabled spaces
Toilets
None at the station; disabled toilets at the Heatherslaw visitor centre
Check first
Adult and child prices show at booking; questions to christmasspecial@heatherslawlightrailway.co.uk
Outside the county, Tanfield Railway's North Pole Express near Stanley in County Durham (adults £24, children £28) was completely sold out when we checked, and the South Tynedale Railway at Alston lists no Christmas trains. So this year it's Alnwick or Heatherslaw. Book the train first and plan the day round it.
Kielder Winter Wonderland: the full-day one
Kielder
Kielder Winter Wonderland
This is the big production. It's an outdoor, theatrical day in the forest at Kielder Waterside with Mrs Christmas, reindeer, a Christmas theatre show, an elves' workshop where the children make a wooden keepsake under the eye of the Master Elf, and Father Christmas. When you book they ask for each child's age and a secret about them, which is the kind of detail that makes a seven year old go very quiet.
It's from £44.50 per person aged 2 and over, and that includes adults, with under 2s at £10 and a £6 booking fee. The organisers say it's ideally suited to ages 3 to 10. It's a long way out: their directions give 50 minutes from Hexham, 80 from Newcastle and 90 from Carlisle. Saturday 28 November is a relaxed day for families living with additional needs, with less noise and raised lighting.
Dates
28 and 29 Nov; 5, 6, 12, 13 and 19 to 23 Dec 2026
Price
From £44.50 per person aged 2+, under 2s £10, plus £6 booking fee
Ages
Ideally 3 to 10, per the organisers
Buggy access
Mostly flat site with pram parks
Parking
Not stated on the event pages; ask when you book
Dogs
Assistance dogs only
Check first
Your session time is allocated at booking; site open 9.30am to 6.30pm
Is it worth it? A family of four is at £184 before petrol and lunch at the Forest Bar and Kitchen, so it has to be the day, not a stop on the way. If your youngest is 3 to 10 and you'll wrap everyone in waterproofs (their advice, and they mean it), it's the most complete Santa day in the county. With a baby and a sceptical 12 year old, it's a lot of money for one child's excitement.
Grottos at castles, gardens and big houses
Alnwick
Meet Father Christmas at Lilidorei, The Alnwick Garden
Lilidorei, the giant play village at The Alnwick Garden, does a proper grotto: a private, one-to-one visit of about ten minutes with Father Christmas and a gift, and the child's ticket includes Lilidorei entry. Prices are tiered by date: Saver £26.50, Standard £34.50, Premium £38, with the Premium dates bunched into the last fortnight before Christmas. Day slots run 10.15am to 3pm, evening slots 4.30pm to 7pm.
The catch is that accompanying adults need their own Lilidorei ticket, Winter Lights ticket or membership, so the child's price isn't the family's price. Breakfast with Father Christmas in The Treehouse (5, 12 and 19 December, £24.95 a child, £15.95 an adult, Lilidorei play included) has him going round the tables; the 19th had sold out by 29 September. Parking is £3.75 for the day, and dogs aren't allowed in from 16 November because of the lights.
Dates
20 Nov to 24 Dec 2026
Price
£26.50 to £38 a child; adults need a Lilidorei, Winter Lights or member ticket
Parking
£3.75 all day at The Alnwick Garden
Buggy access
Not stated on the Christmas pages; bookings team on 01665 511350
Check first
Standard tickets are non-refundable and can't be moved
Bamburgh's Father Christmas Experience is £19.95 a child on top of castle admission, and everyone in the group needs admission, the child included. Up to four children per slot, a gift exclusive to Bamburgh, and the Christmas Carousel installation in the State Rooms afterwards. Sold out as of 29 September 2026.
The castle itself closes 9 to 13 November to put the decorations up, then opens daily from 14 November to 3 January, 10am to 5pm with last entry at 4pm. From 14 November it's £21 an adult, £10.50 a child aged 5 to 16 and £61.50 for two adults and up to three children, with under 5s free. The car park up the hill is £6 a day, card or contactless only. Prams and pushchairs aren't allowed in the State Rooms, so bring a carrier.
Dates
28 Nov to 22 Dec 2026 (the what's-on listing says 23 Dec)
English Heritage's Belsay Hall does storytelling with Father Christmas in the decorated hall, then a photo and a traditional gift for each child. It's weekends only, 5 to 20 December, with seven sessions a day between 10.20am and 3pm. It costs £12 a child, or £9.50 for English Heritage members, and non-members also pay Belsay admission, which changes by date (booking online saves 15%).
It's one adult per child, more only if there's room on the day, so not one for the whole extended family. There was no sold-out notice at the end of September. From Hexham, Belsay and Wallington are the two nearest grottos on this list.
Dates
Sat and Sun, 5 to 20 Dec 2026
Price
£12 a child (£9.50 members) plus admission for non-members
Parking
About 115 spaces 200 m from the entrance; free for members, charged for others
Toilets
Near the car park and at the Coach House café; baby changing in the accessible toilet
The National Trust's Father Christmas Experience at Wallington is a festive hour in the house: a story with Mrs Christmas, some crafts, Father Christmas and a gift, at £32 a child with two adults free. It is sold out. The pre-school session (Tuesday 15 December) and the quiet session with no music and a maximum of 15 children (Sunday 13 and Tuesday 22 December) are listed separately, so check those one by one.
The better news: Father Christmas and Mrs Christmas do free drop-in storytelling on 5, 6, 12, 13, 19, 20, 21 and 22 December, 11.30am to 3pm, with no booking, just normal admission (National Trust members free). If you've missed every grotto in the county, this is the one to know.
Dates
Walkaround 5, 6, 12, 13 and 19 to 22 Dec 2026, 11.30am to 3pm
Price
Grotto £32 a child (sold out); walkaround free with admission
Parking
Car park about a 15 minute walk from the house
Buggy access
Not stated on the Christmas page
Check first
Normal admission applies for the walkaround visits
Santa's Enchanted Elf Journey, Whitehouse Farm Centre
Whitehouse Farm Centre, near Morpeth (NE61 6AW), goes big: up to seven hours of building your own character bear, shows, reindeer, a letter from Santa and a Santa visit with a gift, plus the farm park and indoor soft play. It runs on selected dates from 21 November to 24 December.
Children aged 2 to 16 are £49.95, adults £24.95 and seniors £20.95. Under 2s who take part are £44.95, while babes in arms go free with a paying child. For two adults and two children that's £149.80, which is steep, but it's the one I'd pick for 2 to 6 year olds who'd rather meet a goat than sit through a story. There's a wheelchair-accessible tractor and Santa hut, three sensory rooms and a Changing Places toilet.
Dates
Selected dates, 21 Nov to 24 Dec 2026
Price
Child 2 to 16 £49.95, adult £24.95, senior £20.95, under 2 £44.95
Toilets
Several accessible toilets and a Changing Places toilet
Parking
Not stated on the event page
Dogs
Assistance dogs only
Check first
Book a timed slot; the farm opens at 10am (9am on Christmas Eve)
Woodhorn, the old colliery museum in Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, runs Festive Tales: a cosy story time, a photo with Father Christmas and an early present for each child, in a session of about half an hour. Sessions are at 10.45am, 12 noon, 1.45pm and 3pm, and the 3pm one is a relaxed session for families who'd like it quieter.
It's £10 a child including the booking fee, and each adult needs a Woodhorn Annual Pass (£11, or £10 without the donation), which gets you back in for a year. That makes it the cheapest ticketed Father Christmas in the county by a distance. Parking is free, though a charge applies on busy days, and the Winding House Café does scones.
Dates
Sat and Sun 5, 6, 12, 13, 19 and 20 Dec, then daily 21 to 24 Dec 2026
Price
£10 a child; adults need an £11 annual pass
Parking
Free, but charged on busy days
Toilets
On both floors of the Cutter Building; baby changing in the Changing Places toilet
Check first
Pick the 3pm relaxed session if noise is a problem
Seahouses has a new venue for its Santa this year, The Ocean Club at Seafield Park (NE68 7SP), and the organisers promise an unhurried sit-down with Father Christmas by the fire, with the red book and a gift chosen for each child. A ticket covers one child and up to two adults for a 30 minute slot including the festive waiting area; extra adults are £6.50. Every child needs a ticket, babies too.
There are saver, standard and premium dates, but prices only show on the booking pages, and the Northumberland Gazette reported on 9 September that the saver dates were already going quickly. It's all on one level and pushchairs are welcome.
Price
Saver, standard and premium tiers; extra adults £6.50
Parking
Free at the Ocean Club if there's space, or the council car park on Main Street
Crabbies Berwick Garden Centre at East Ord, just outside Berwick, runs Santa's Workshop on December weekends and 21 to 23 December: a one-to-one visit with Santa, photos, an early present and festive baking with Mrs Claus. There's also Breakfast with Santa on 21 and 22 December. Prices and times only appear when you book online. Handy at the top end of the county if you don't fancy the drive to Alnwick in the dark.
Dates
Weekends in Dec plus 21 to 23 Dec 2026; breakfasts 21 and 22 Dec
Babies and under 2s: Heatherslaw, free with a present. Whitehouse charges £44.95 for under 2s who take part, a lot for someone who'll sleep through it.
Pre-schoolers: Belsay's storytelling, Whitehouse, or the Alnwick steam train, which is under an hour.
Ages 3 to 10: Kielder is built for exactly this band. Lilidorei works too, because the play village burns off the chocolate afterwards.
Older children with suspicions: the steam train. A nine year old who's gone quiet about Santa will still enjoy a steam engine.
Children who find noise hard: Kielder's relaxed day on 28 November, Woodhorn's 3pm sessions, Wallington's quiet sessions and Whitehouse's sensory rooms.
Every Santa ticket in Northumberland has small print about adults. Read it before you do the sums, or the grotto price you saw will be about half the grotto price you pay.
Missed the booking? What to do now
Sold out doesn't mean no Santa. It means no easy Santa. These were free, or still bookable, when we checked on 29 September:
Wallington's walkaround Father Christmas, free with admission, no booking.
Morpeth's Christmas lights switch-on in the Market Place on Saturday 14 November: a free afternoon with a fairground, a snow globe photo spot and, in the town council's words, "a visit from a very special man in red".
Breakfast with Father Christmas at The Alnwick Garden, 5 or 12 December.
Belsay and Woodhorn, neither of which showed a sold-out notice.
Heatherslaw and the Aln Valley Railway, both with booking open.
Bamburgh's grotto and Wallington's main sessions are gone. Watch their pages in case slots reappear, but don't build December round it.
Earlier than feels reasonable. By 29 September 2026 Bamburgh, Wallington's main run and Tanfield had gone, and Seahouses' saver dates were selling in early September. At The Alnwick Garden, the one Breakfast with Father Christmas date already gone was Saturday 19 December, the last weekend before Christmas, which tells you everything about when everyone wants to go.
So if you're set on a particular Saturday in December, start looking in August, and treat the late November Saver dates as your fallback. They're cheaper, and Father Christmas is exactly as real on a Tuesday.
Friday, 7am: the weather call, one proper day out and every family event that weekend, checked with the organiser.
Sunday, 6pm: the grown-up edition, with a walk of the week and what's worth booking.
Every week: Holy Island crossing times, new guides and what's on at half term.
No spam, no ads. Unsubscribe from any email with one click. Privacy
Questions people ask
is kielder winter wonderland worth it
It is if your children are 3 to 10 and you make it the whole day: it's an outdoor, theatrical event with reindeer, a theatre show, an elves' workshop and Father Christmas. At from £44.50 a head for adults as well as children, plus a £6 booking fee, a family of four pays from £184, so it's poor value for a baby or a sceptical 12 year old.
how much is kielder winter wonderland
From £44.50 per person aged 2 and over, adults included, and £10 for under 2s, plus a £6 booking fee, according to the organiser's 2026 dates and prices page. Prices are listed as "from", so check the price for your date when you book.
is kielder winter wonderland dog friendly
No. Only guide dogs and other assistance dogs are allowed on site during Kielder Winter Wonderland, so the dog needs a sitter for the day.
how much is christmas at bamburgh castle
From 14 November 2026 it's £21 an adult, £10.50 a child aged 5 to 16 and £61.50 for two adults and up to three children, with under 5s free and the Christmas installation included. Father Christmas is £19.95 a child on top (sold out for 2026), and parking is £6 a day, card or contactless only.
when is warkworth santa claus parade
The Warkworth Santa Claus Parade that turns up in searches is in Warkworth, Ontario, in Canada's own Northumberland County: an evening parade on Main Street, which in 2024 was Friday 6 December at 7pm. We couldn't find a Santa parade listed for Warkworth in Northumberland, England, for 2026; the nearest free, confirmed Santa appearance we found is Morpeth's switch-on on Saturday 14 November.
where does the aln valley railway go
It runs from Lionheart Station on the edge of Alnwick (NE66 2EZ) for about 1.5 miles along the old branch line to Greenrigg Halt, and back. The long-term aim is to reach Alnmouth station on the East Coast Main Line; the 2026 Santa trains are a 55 minute return trip.
when do lilidorei christmas tickets go on sale
Some are on sale already: on 29 September 2026 Breakfast with Father Christmas was bookable (19 December had sold out) and The Alnwick Garden's Christmas page had booking buttons for Meet Father Christmas and Winter Lights. The A Lilidorei Christmas day ticket page still said "tickets coming soon" with no date, so check the Garden's site.
Sources and further reading
Facts checked against 32 pages on Tuesday 29 September 2026. Opening times and prices change, so confirm with the venue.