Bairns & Beaches.
For grown-ups

Northumberland With a Dog: Beaches, Castles, Walks and Pubs

Nearly all of it, once you know the two summer beach bans, the lead rules for lambs and nesting birds, and which castles stop the dog at the gate.

Northumberland With a Dog: Beaches, Castles, Walks and Pubs
Photo: Coast path below Dunstanburgh Castle - geograph.org.uk - 6363701 by Derek Harper, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

The short answer

Yes. Northumberland is one of the easier counties to visit with a dog: only parts of Blyth and Newbiggin-by-the-Sea beaches ban dogs (1 May to 30 September), and Bamburgh, Dunstanburgh, Warkworth and Housesteads let dogs in on leads, as do the grounds at Cragside, Wallington and Lindisfarne Castle. The catches are leads on Open Access land from 1 March to 31 July, short leads near nesting terns and on Holy Island, no dogs ashore on the Farne Islands and none at Alnwick Castle.

Checked 29 September 2026. Rules, dates and prices change, so the council's, the castle's or the pub's own page is the one to trust.

Northumberland, England is one of the easier places in the country to take a dog, and the short answer to "is Northumberland dog friendly" is yes, with a handful of catches worth knowing before you load the boot. Most dog pages for the county stop at "follow local signage", which is true and no use at all when you're sat in a car park in Beadnell wondering if the terns are in. So this names the beaches, the dates, the castles that say no and the pubs that say yes on their own websites.

Is Northumberland dog friendly? The short answer

  • Beaches: yes, all year, apart from parts of Blyth and Newbiggin-by-the-Sea from 1 May to 30 September.
  • Castles: Bamburgh, Dunstanburgh, Warkworth and Housesteads take dogs on leads, Lindisfarne Castle in the grounds only. Alnwick Castle and Chillingham say no.
  • Gardens: Cragside and Wallington outdoors, yes. The Alnwick Garden, Thursdays and Sundays only, until 15 November 2026.
  • Islands: Holy Island on a short lead. The Farne Islands, no, not even assistance dogs.
  • Hills: yes, but on a lead on Open Access land from 1 March to 31 July, and around livestock always.

Add to the no pile the National Park's own ranger-led walks (every one in our events listings this winter says no dogs) and the Wildlife Trust's Hauxley reserve, which is assistance dogs only.

Which Northumberland beaches have dog bans?

Two, and only partly. Northumberland County Council's dog control order bans dogs from part of the beach at Newbiggin-by-the-Sea (from the breakwater beside Church Point to the access from the promenade beside Sidney Crescent) and part of the beach at Blyth (from the access at Beachway to the access at the southern end of the Links Road car park) from 1 May to 30 September every year. It's been running since 2011, and breaking it gets you an on-the-spot £100 fixed penalty. At Newbiggin the southern end of the bay and the whole promenade stay open to dogs all summer.

The same order covers the whole county. Pick it up. Keep dogs out of enclosed children's play areas. If a council officer asks, the dog goes on a lead no longer than 1.5 metres. And the newest rule, which will mostly bother professional walkers with a van full of spaniels: no more than six dogs per person.

Everywhere else there's no council ban, just local requests:

  • Bamburgh: dogs welcome all year, no seasonal restrictions, no lifeguards. Toilets at the Links car park and on Church Street.
  • Beadnell Bay: dogs all year, but short leads at and near the Long Nanny tern colony from May to July.
  • Alnmouth: no dog restrictions and no lifeguards. The estuary mouth is dangerous on a dropping tide, so keep the dog out of the river channel.
  • Craster: no restrictions, but it's a very small harbour beach with rock and shingle either side. Dogs come here for the walk.
  • Druridge Bay: dog friendly all year, and long enough to flatten a collie. Embleton Bay allows dogs too.

Birds, seals and islands: where the rules get stricter

The Long Nanny, the burn at the southern end of Beadnell Bay (about a mile's walk from Beadnell or High Newton), is where Arctic and little terns nest on open sand. The National Trust asks for dogs on short leads at and near it from May to July, and the rangers rope the colony off. Stay outside the ropes. A terrier can undo a season's nesting in about four seconds.

Holy Island and the sands around it are Lindisfarne National Nature Reserve. The byelaws already call for dogs on a short lead, and in 2024 Natural England consulted on a two-metre lead and no more than two dogs each at Ross Sands, Goswick Sands and Budle Bay, for the little terns and ringed plovers. I couldn't confirm that change is in force, so work to the stricter version and read the sign where you go in. Pirri-pirri bur, an invasive dune plant, clings to fur, so check the dog before it gets back in the car. And the causeway floods twice a day: check the council's safe crossing times before you drive over, every single time.

Holy Island crossing times The council's safe crossing times for your date, with a link to the council's own table. →

The Farne Islands are the one flat no. The National Trust allows no dogs ashore, assistance dogs included, though some boats let dogs stay on board.

The Farne Islands Boats, landing fees and what you'll see each season, for the humans in the party. →

Grey seal pups are born on the Farnes in autumn, and seals haul out on mainland beaches too. Watch from clifftops or dunes with dogs on leads and roughly 100 metres back, and never walk onto a beach with seals on it. If one looks injured, keep people and dogs away and ring British Divers Marine Life Rescue on 01825 765546.

Dog-friendly castles and attractions in Northumberland

Ruins and grounds are easy, state rooms are not, so with two adults you take it in turns.

Bamburgh

Bamburgh Castle

A family on a picnic blanket among camping chairs in the courtyard at Bamburgh Castle, waiting for an outdoor play to start.
Outdoor theatre in the courtyard at Bamburgh Castle. Our own photo, July 2022.

Well behaved dogs are welcome in the grounds, the Victorian Stables and the Tack Room Takeaway on a short lead (lock an extendable one short, the castle asks). The State Rooms, the Clock Tower Cafe and the Aviation Museum are assistance dogs only, as are evening events unless they say otherwise.

So the dog gets the ramparts and the view out to the Farnes, then it's down to the beach, which has no seasonal ban at all.

Price
Until 8 Nov 2026: adult £19.95, child (5 to 16) £10, family £58.50. From 14 Nov: £21, £10.50, £61.50
Parking
Castle car park or Glebe car park in the village, £6 a day, card or contactless only
Buggy access
Free shuttle buggy up the hill from the castle car park; no prams in the State Rooms
Dogs
Grounds, stables and takeaway on a short lead
Check first
Closed 9 to 13 Nov 2026 for the Christmas install; weekends only 4 Jan to 12 Feb 2027
Official website ↗
Craster

Dunstanburgh Castle

Craster, Dunstanburgh Castle
Photo: Craster - Dunstanburgh Castle - 20210420140052 by IanChristopherWeston, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

The walk is the point. It's 1.3 miles from Craster along the coast, across working farmland, so expect livestock and keep the lead on. English Heritage welcomes dogs on leads inside the ruin too, which makes this the best castle-plus-walk for a dog in the county, and the one I'd do first. It's a grass path, so after rain it's mud, and the Jolly Fisherman is back in Craster for afterwards.

Price
Varies by date on English Heritage's booking page; members free
Parking
Council car park in Craster, 60 spaces, coin machines, 1.3 miles from the castle
Toilets
Two unisex toilets at the castle; more at the Craster car park
Check first
Daily 10am to 5pm at the time of writing; winter days not yet published
Official website ↗
Warkworth

Warkworth Castle

Two children posing on the pavement below Warkworth Castle on its grassy mound.
Arriving at Warkworth Castle, high on its mound above the village. Our own photo, May 2023.

Dogs on leads are welcome at the castle, a big cross-shaped keep over the village and the River Coquet. The Hermitage, a chapel cut into the riverbank upstream, is no dogs according to our castles guide, so somebody walks the dog by the river while the others go.

Price
Varies by date on English Heritage's booking page; 15% off if you book ahead
Parking
About 48 spaces outside; free for English Heritage members with a car sticker, paid for everyone else
Toilets
Yes, including an accessible toilet
Check first
Hermitage days (Sundays and Mondays at the time of writing) and winter opening
Official website ↗

Planning a trip? Get the Friday email: the weather call and what's on that weekend, checked, before you set off. →

Holy Island

Lindisfarne Castle

A toddler in a red backpack walks past the black-roofed upturned-boat sheds on Holy Island.
Exploring the upturned-boat sheds below Lindisfarne Castle on Holy Island. Our own photo, February 2022.

No dogs inside the castle (assistance dogs only), but the National Trust welcomes them in the grounds on short leads, with water bowls by the admissions point, sometimes biscuits, and two bins. There are sheep with lambs and ground-nesting birds across the site, and a fenced area by the lime kilns where ringed plovers nest, so give it plenty of room. The Trust's village shop sells doggy essentials if you've forgotten the bags.

Price
Castle: adult £13 (£14.30 with Gift Aid), child £6.50 (£7.20); NT members free
Parking
Main island car park, about a mile's walk; drop-off at the castle gate
Toilets
One toilet at the castle
Check first
The council's safe crossing times, and castle hours, which follow the tides
Official website ↗
Hadrian's Wall

Housesteads Roman Fort

Hadrian's Wall and Housesteads Roman Fort aerial
Photo: Hadrian's Wall and Housesteads Roman Fort aerial by Lieven Smits, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Yes, Housesteads is dog friendly: English Heritage welcomes dogs on the fort on a short lead. The fort is up the hill from the visitor centre with the Wall running off either side, so the visit and the walk are the same thing. It's sheep country, so the short lead isn't optional. Vindolanda, down the road, doesn't take dogs, so if you're doing both, one of you waits in the car park with a flask.

Price
See English Heritage's prices page; members free
Parking
National Park car park: £5 for up to 3 hours, then £2 an hour, £10 max; pay on exit or online within 48 hours
Toilets
At the visitor centre, including accessible toilets and baby changing
Check first
Winter opening days on English Heritage's site
Official website ↗
Rothbury

Cragside

Cragside House with trees
Photo: Cragside House with trees by ThomasL4321, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Dogs are allowed in all the outdoor spaces, on leads at all times, and they're welcome in the shop, with a dog seating area in the tea room. Only assistance dogs go in the house. Seven car parks round the estate mean you can drive a bit and walk a bit. It isn't cheap, though, so save it for a dry day.

Price
Until 1 Nov 2026: adult £27 (£29.70 with Gift Aid), child £13.50, family £67.50; NT members free
Parking
Free once you've paid admission; seven car parks
Toilets
Visitor centre, House archway and Crozier car park
Check first
Opening after 1 November
Official website ↗
Cambo

Wallington

Wallington Hall
Photo: Wallington Hall 1905 by Unknown author Unknown author, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons.

The National Trust gives Wallington two pawprints: dogs can go on miles of parkland and woodland trails and into the walled garden. The volunteers' guided walks take dogs on leads too, including the easy 2.6 mile River Walk on 20 October and 2 December 2026, which crosses the Wansbeck by stepping stones or a bridge. It's also a red squirrel spot, which is a mixed blessing if your dog has views on squirrels.

Price
Until 1 Nov 2026: adult £22, child £11, family £55 (without Gift Aid); NT members free
Parking
Included in the ticket; free for members
Toilets
Yes, on site
Check first
Opening after 1 November, and where dogs can sit in the cafe
Official website ↗
Alnwick

The Alnwick Garden (Dog Days)

A small boy standing on the steps inside a long green tunnel of trained trees at the Alnwick Garden.
A leafy tunnel at the Alnwick Garden. Our own photo, August 2025.

Dogs on Thursdays and Sundays only, 10am to 4pm, until 15 November 2026; from 16 November, no dogs at all. Short, non-extendable leads, two dogs per person at most, and not in the Poison Garden, Lilidorei or most indoor areas (the ticket office, The Bakery, the gift shop and the Potting Shed are fine). Winter Lights is assistance dogs only, and Alnwick Castle next door takes no dogs, so this is the dog's one shot at Alnwick's big two.

Price
Garden admission as normal; the Dog Days page doesn't mention a dog charge
Parking
Pay car park shared with Alnwick Castle, cards accepted
Toilets
Not listed on the Dog Days page; ask at the ticket office
Check first
Thursdays and Sundays only, and no dogs from 16 Nov 2026
Official website ↗
Seahouses

Serenity Farne Islands sail-around

Serenity says well behaved dogs are welcome on its grey seal and seabird cruise, which takes about an hour and a half and doesn't land, so the islands' no-dogs rule doesn't come into it. It sails from Seahouses harbour all year except Christmas Day, weather permitting. Be there 30 minutes early for your boarding pass.

Price
Adult £22, child (15 and under) £17, under 5s free
Parking
Council Station Yard car park in Seahouses: 1 hour free, 2 hours £5.50, 3 hours £7, all day £10.50
Toilets
None listed for the boat, so go before you board
Check first
Sailings depend on the weather; times vary by season
Official website ↗
Heatherslaw

Heatherslaw Light Railway

10I07I2019 Heatherslaw Light Railway E4
Photo: 10I07I2019 Heatherslaw Light Railway E4 by PeterSkuce, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Dogs ride free on this narrow gauge railway along the River Till to Etal, and the autumn trains run daily until 1 November 2026 (from Heatherslaw at 11am, 12pm, 1pm, 2.30pm and 3.30pm). Each train waits at Etal long enough to walk up to the castle, which takes dogs on leads. Half term week, 26 October to 1 November, is also the Famous Scarycrow Trail round Ford, Etal and Heatherslaw: free, mostly walkable and dogs welcome.

Price
Return: adult £12.50, child (2 to 16) £6, over 60s £12, family of four £34; dogs and under 2s free
Parking
Not stated on the railway's page; check
Toilets
Not stated on the railway's page; check
Check first
Last trains of 2026 on 1 November
Official website ↗

Castles of Northumberland Every castle in the county with opening months, prices and a dogs line for each. →

Walks with sheep, cattle and nesting birds

This is the bit that matters most, because a lot of Northumberland is working farmland and moor. The Countryside Code says that between 1 March and 31 July your dog must be on a lead on Open Access land, even with no livestock on it, and that on Open Access land and at the coast it must be on a lead around livestock. It also says, plainly, that a farmer can shoot a dog that is attacking or chasing livestock.

Northumberland National Park says lambing runs from as early as the end of February in the south of the Park to the end of May in the north, so the Cheviots are last. Its Take the Lead campaign asks for leads right through spring, for the lambs and for ground-nesting curlew, oystercatcher and lapwing. If cattle come at you, the Code is blunt: let the dog off the lead and don't get hurt protecting it. The dog will outrun them. You won't.

Hethpool

College Valley

College Valley road, Hethpool
Photo: College Valley road, Hethpool - geograph.org.uk - 7895894 by Richard Webb, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

A quiet valley in the northern Cheviots and a working sheep estate, which says uncontrolled dogs are one of the biggest threats to its sheep, lambs and ground-nesting birds, and asks you to keep your dog under control at all times. In practice, that's a lead. Park free at Hethpool; you can't drive further up without a permit.

Price
Free
Parking
Free car park at Hethpool; no vehicles beyond without a permit
Toilets
None listed on the estate's visitor page
Check first
Lambing in the northern Cheviots runs to the end of May
Official website ↗

Easier options: Druridge Bay Country Park for the long beach (first hour free, £3 up to two hours, £5 over), Allen Banks near Bardon Mill with dogs on leads (£3 for four hours, £5 all day, National Trust members free), and Simonside above Rothbury, where the open moor means leads from 1 March to 31 July.

Dog-friendly pubs and cafes (that say so themselves)

Plenty of places up here are dog friendly in practice. These three say so on their own websites, which is the test I'd use, because a Facebook post from 2019 is not binding.

Low Newton-by-the-Sea

The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn, Low Newton-by-the-Sea
Photo: The Ship Inn, Low Newton-by-the-Sea - geograph.org.uk - 3384545 by Russel Wills, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

The Ship brews its own beer and has a dog policy written by people who own three large dogs and have clearly mopped up after a lot of Labradors. Dogs are welcome on a short lead, tucked under the table and off the furniture, and please don't bring your own water bowls or, their words, a "wet & smelly dog". Space is tight at evening service, when they'd rather you left the dog behind.

Price
Menu on the pub's website
Parking
Council pay and display at Low Newton: 1 hour £3.30, 2 hours £5.50, all day £9.50
Toilets
For customers
Check first
Opening and food times on the website, or ring 01665 576262 (NE66 3EL)
Official website ↗
Craster

The Jolly Fisherman

Jolly Fisherman
Photo: Jolly Fisherman by Victuallers, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

Dogs are welcome in the bar only, not the restaurant, so the crab soup with a dog under the table means a bar seat. Food runs 11am to 3pm and 5pm to 8.30pm Monday to Saturday, 12pm to 5pm on Sunday, and the pub recommends booking, with a 15 minute grace period before your table goes.

Price
Menu on the pub's website
Parking
Council car park in Craster, 60 spaces, coin machines
Toilets
Public toilets at the Craster car park
Check first
Dogs in the bar only
Official website ↗
Beadnell

The Craster Arms

The Craster Arms, Beadnell
Photo: The Craster Arms, Beadnell - geograph.org.uk - 4044161 by Bill Henderson, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

The most relaxed rules of the three: dogs welcome in the bar, the restaurant and outside at all service times, on a lead, kept with you and off the furniture. The kitchen runs noon to 8.15pm Sunday to Wednesday and to 8.45pm Thursday to Saturday.

Price
Menu on the pub's website
Parking
Council car park at Beadnell: 1 hour free, 3 hours £7, all day £9.50
Toilets
For customers
Check first
Book online or on 01665 720272 (NE67 5AX)
Official website ↗

For a coffee rather than a pint, Cragside's tea room has a dog seating area and Bamburgh Castle's Tack Room Takeaway lets dogs in.

Dog-friendly events this autumn and winter

The Alnwick Pumpkin Patch at Broxfield Farm says dogs are welcome, on the weekends of 10 and 11, 17 and 18, and 24 and 25 October. Next year, the Northumberland County Show at Bywell on 29 May 2027 welcomes well behaved dogs on short leads.

Corbridge

Brocksbushes Pumpkin Experience

Brocksbushes near Corbridge sets aside dog-friendly sessions on 10 and 11 October and from 21 to 28 October 2026. Book online first. It's the full production (prize hunt, carving tent, fairground rides), so bring a dog that's relaxed about crowds and bairns waving sticks.

Price
£3.50 per person aged 3 and over, or £12 for a family of up to 5
Parking
Not stated in the listing; check the farm's page
Toilets
Not stated in the listing; check the farm's page
Check first
Which sessions are dog friendly when you book
Official website ↗
Ford and Etal

Ford and Etal Christmas Market

More than 70 stalls across Ford, Etal, Heatherslaw and Ford Castle on 28 and 29 November 2026, 10am to 4pm, with vintage buses between the villages. Dogs on leads are welcome, which for a Christmas market is a canny bonus.

Price
Admission tickets from the estate information points; details due nearer the date
Parking
Not published yet; check the estate's page
Toilets
Not published yet; check the estate's page
Check first
Ticket details nearer the date
Official website ↗

The Almanac Every event we've checked across the county, with dates, prices and the organiser's link. →

Vets, ticks and the sea

Save this number before you need it: 01670 505 321, the Alnorthumbria Veterinary Centre at Fairmoor, Morpeth (NE61 3JN). It's a CVS 24/7 centre with its own emergency team overnight, at weekends and on bank holidays, and it takes the out-of-hours cases for the group's Alnwick practice (01665 510 999). Morpeth is a long way from Kielder or Berwick at 2am, so if you're staying at either end of the county, find the nearest practice on the RCVS Find a Vet search and put its number in your phone.

Ticks live in woods and long grass, the NHS says, which covers a fair chunk of the county. Check the dog, and the children, after hill and woodland walks. Remove a tick with fine-tipped tweezers or a tick tool, gripping close to the skin and pulling slowly upwards without squeezing, and watch for a bullseye rash on the humans in the weeks after.

If the dog goes into the sea or gets stuck in mud, don't go in after it. The RNLI says to move somewhere it can reach you safely and call it, because it'll probably get out by itself, and if you're worried, ring 999 or 112 and ask for the Coastguard. Keep it on a lead near cliff edges and fast-flowing water, the river mouth at Alnmouth included. There are no lifeguards at Bamburgh, Beadnell, Alnmouth, Craster or Druridge.

See what's on in The Northumbrian Almanac

Questions people ask

Is Northumberland dog friendly?

Yes, mostly. Only parts of Blyth and Newbiggin beaches ban dogs (1 May to 30 September), and Bamburgh, Dunstanburgh, Warkworth and Housesteads let dogs in on leads, while Alnwick Castle, Chillingham and the Farne Islands don't.

Are dogs allowed on Northumberland beaches?

Yes, on almost all of them all year. The council's dog control order bans dogs from parts of Newbiggin-by-the-Sea and Blyth beaches from 1 May to 30 September with a £100 fixed penalty, and dogs go on short leads near the Long Nanny tern colony from May to July.

Is Alnmouth beach dog friendly?

Yes, there are no dog restrictions at Alnmouth. There are no lifeguards, and the estuary mouth is dangerous on a dropping tide, so keep the dog out of the river channel.

Is Craster beach dog friendly?

Yes, with no restrictions, but it's a very small sandy beach in the harbour with rock and shingle either side. The 1.3 mile walk to Dunstanburgh Castle crosses working farmland, so keep the lead on for the livestock.

Is Beadnell Bay dog friendly?

Yes, all year, but the National Trust asks for dogs on short leads at and near the Long Nanny tern colony from May to July. There are toilets with showers at the beach.

Is Housesteads dog friendly?

Yes. English Heritage says dogs are welcome on the fort on a short lead, and the National Park car park costs £5 for up to three hours.

Is Bamburgh beach dog friendly?

Yes, dogs are welcome on Bamburgh beach all year with no seasonal restrictions. There are no lifeguards, and the toilets are at the Links car park and on Church Street.

Is Bamburgh Castle dog friendly?

Yes, in the grounds, the Victorian Stables and the Tack Room Takeaway, on a short lead. Only assistance dogs can go into the State Rooms, the Clock Tower Cafe and the Aviation Museum.

Sources and further reading

Facts checked against 44 pages on Tuesday 29 September 2026. Opening times and prices change, so confirm with the venue.

Show the sources

Read next